Update

Must. Stop. Buying. Books.

Thanks for bearing with me as I hack my way through the Willie Mays book, which is about 800 pages long. The book is actually very good, but I am in the thick of soccer season right now, and am trying to read between games and tournaments.

I have a zillion books lined up behind the Willie Mays book, since a couple of my favorite authors have come out with new books. I picked up Erik Larson’s In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin on my Nook last week. I sincerely enjoyed reading Thunderstruck a few months ago, and I also have his other epic about the Galveston Hurricane, Isaac’s Storm, up in my TBR drawer (yes, I have a drawer!!)  and am really looking forward to this one. My other hero, David McCullough, came out with The Greater Journey: Americans in Paris, a book about antebellum-era Americans in Paris, which should also be awesome.  I am currently re-reading for like the umpteenth time his amazing book, John Adams, for Wallace’s Read-A-Long at Unputdownables, and I also loved The Great Bridge. I also picked up another book on my Nook that a fellow blogger picked up while at BEA at the famous New York bookstore, The Strand, called Reading Jackie: Her Autobiography in Books, about Jackie O’s time as an book editor with Doubleday. I love the idea that someone’s work can tell something about them personally, especially since books are so personal to us all. The reviews on this book have been a bit sketchy, so we’ll have to see how it goes.

No worries! I am seeking help for my book-buying frenzy. Look for a review of Willie Mays: The Life, The Legend near the end of the week. Enjoy the long weekend!

4 thoughts on “Update

  1. I smiled when I saw this post! Although I’ve concluded that I will not stop buying books. I must find more places to store them! And I also need to put them in some kind of order before I start buying duplicates – actually I’ve already bought a few duplicates.

    -Shannon

  2. My shelves are already full so I had to resort to one of the drawers of my nightstand to keep them all in. Although that’s full now too. I can talk all I want to about putting myself on a book buying moratorium….but I know it will never happen. I buy books like other women buy shoes. 🙂

  3. Girl, we are in the same boat!

    (Except I also buy shoes like other women buy shoes)

    I told my mom that my immediate TBR list was ‘only’ fourteen books long and I’m pretty sure that was the point in the phone conversation when she started Googling mental facilities.

Leave a Reply

