Commitment-phobia

Hi, my name is Pam, and I can’t commit to a book. There, I said it.

Maybe it’s because it’s summer. Maybe it’s because I’ve had my butt parked on a soccer sideline since April. Maybe it’s because I’ve been on two major out of town trips in the last two weeks. Maybe it’s because I have a big obsession going on with Ancestry.com after recently discovering that my dad is directly related to the first woman burned as a witch in the 13 colonies and my mom is directly related to one of the first 12 settlers of Quebec. (My personal feeling on Ancestry.com is they make sure EVERYONE is related to someone famous, so you stay motivated to keep researching AND they can rake in the big bucks on your year membership. Oh, well, they’ve got me sold.) I don’t know what it is. But I do know this…I have been in and out of books these past four weeks like a revolving door, unable to commit to anything past the middle of the book. Sometimes not even making it past the Table of Contents. I’ve tried everything. Thought I was gonna make it through Anthony Bourdain’s sexy tell-all book Kitchen Confidential…and then suddenly lost interest. Couldn’t even stick with the Hitler book, In The Garden of Beasts…and I LOVE Erik Larson. It’s even on my NOOK!!! Cracked the first few pages of the new David McCullough and closed it immediately, afraid I would burn out on it after just one page and never want to read it again. I finished John Adams, but can’t even commit to finishing up the blog posts. What is happening to me?

Any other bloggers out there ever hit a wall like this? I just want to know before I go looking for a support group. 🙂 I’m about a hundred pages into Richard Holmes’ The Age of Wonder, so there’s hope for me yet. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Commitment-phobia

  1. I’m there! It must be seasonal! Everyday I look at my book shelf before I leave home to catch the train to work, and I’ve not been motivated to grab anything yet.

    I decided that I wouldn’t read anything for a while and maybe I’ll be able to get back into the swing of things.

    -Shannon

  2. Oh, yeah, I get these blocks on a fairly regular basis! There’s nothing like being a book blogger and hitting a reading slump to get you panicking a bit, is there? Funnily enough, I did the same with ‘Kitchen Confidential’ even though I was loving every page of it – it’s back on my shelf waiting for round two. I also go through those ‘jeez, I really don’t want to sit down and write a review right now’ blogging days…

    Sometimes I think the problem, for me at least, is having TOO MUCH CHOICE. I pick up one book, start reading, and before I know it my eyes are sidling off to the bookshelves, or another package arrives in the post, and suddenly I want to be reading every book BUT the one in my hand. Does that make sense? Plus mood is everything, especially with non-fiction. No matter how much you want to focus, if your head’s all over the place a 400-page detail-heavy history book really isn’t the way to go!

    Hope it helps to know you’re far from the only one! 😀

    • I think having so many books at my disposal, and my inability to stop buying more, is 99% of the problem. 🙂 I am going to try to put myself on Book Buying Moratorium for the next three months and see if that helps me make a dent in the rather large stack of books I have accumulated. 🙂

      • Good luck! I’ve tried, I really have… I even swallowed my pride and bought a Kindle in the hope that the instant-gratification ease of downloading stuff as and when I want it would help me stop buying all those books and having them sitting around on the shelves for years. Sadly there’s a Kindle summer sale on right now so I’ve already loaded a bunch of stuff onto it EVEN THOUGH I HAVEN’T READ A SINGLE BOOK ON THERE YET.
        Hmmm, maybe once I’ve settled in a bit more, right? RIGHT? 😀
        Good luck – maybe if worst comes to worst we should start a Book Slump support group or something?

  3. I sometimes have that problem, when nothing jumps out of the TBR pile at me or I just can’t get into anything. It will pass!

    And on Ancestry.com, don’t worry. Despite having traced some parts of my family back to the 16th Century, there is noone even moderately well-known in my family. I have a suspicion we may be the least distinguished family in the whole of the UK!

  4. Thank you guys so much. I feel so much better knowing that others have had this issue! Now maybe I can find some motivation to finish something up!

    Hope you guys are having a great summer!

  5. Sounds to me like you’re having that horrible cyclical reading thing that happens sometimes — where *nothing* will satisfy. (Though I’ll confess: The latest Erik Larson book didn’t really do it for me.) You may have to go random, and just wander the library stacks until a book or two tackle you to the ground and you just have to read them. That usually helps me.

Leave a Reply

