Wrapping up Food Month, Kicking off Sports Month

I have to say I learned a lot from Food Month. Out of the five books I read, three were amazing, one was pretty good, and one was kind of not my thing. I finished Gabrielle Hamilton’s Blood, Bones and Butter, but am not sure I’m going to formally review it because I didn’t like it that much. Here’s a basic synopsis for those of you who might consider reading it: Teenage girl from a troubled home takes a job in a restaurant to put food on her table, and it turns into a career. After years of working in soulless catering jobs, girl opens her own restaurant in New York City to critical acclaim. Girl makes the mistake of marrying a ice-cold Italian doctor so he doesn’t get deported, and discovers it is only a marriage of convenience. Even though they don’t love each other and don’t really get along, this doesn’t prevent them from having a couple of kids. The best times are when they go to Italy every year for 3 weeks, where Girl falls in love with the country, the food, and her mother-in-law.

Anyway! I would probably give the book a B- or C+ for a review, depending on my level of generosity at the moment.

So we’ve got some great reads coming up for Sports Month! I’m already halfway through Friday Night Lights, which is a very interesting portrait of a small town in Texas and their obsession with high school football. It makes me glad there is so much to do around my town that we don’t have to pin all of our hopes and dreams on and vicariously live through a team of teenage kids.

Other reads upcoming this month:

The Majors, John Feinstein

Ball Four, Jim Bouton

The Horse God Built, Lawrence Scanlan

Among the Thugs, Bill Buford

It’ll be great! Stick around!

2 thoughts on “Wrapping up Food Month, Kicking off Sports Month

  1. Can’t wait to read your review of Friday Night Lights. I read it *years* ago in college and was amazed how interesting I found it, considering it had football as one of its main topics. But there’s so much other stuff beyond the football stuff… and that’s what pulled me in.

    • I liked it a lot. It was a very hard book for me to review, because there is so much going on in the book on so many different levels. What do you talk about first? The racism run rampant in the town, the Texas Board of Education clearly prioritizing football wins over their athletes getting an education? How pathetic Odessa was to have nothing else going on, so that the town lived and died by football wins and losses? The subservient role of women in the book made me slightly sick, that girls would want nothing else at Permian but the chance to be a Pepette and bake cookies for the players?

Leave a Reply

